Some words about table formatting in WordPress.com

My formatting on the previous hotkeys post is terrible.  And yes I admit that I’m being lazy to write html code to beatify it up.  However I think it is more a responsibility on WordPress.com, that is to provide user a better kitchen sink with table controls, which in my opinion a fairly standard request in blogging.  

For WordPress.org user they do not have such problem as they are free to install bunch of table plugins.  I hate to find myself again being a WordPress.com user with so many restriction as compared with the counterparts users.

In one post I found in WordPress.com support forum someone said there’s no whatsoever table plugins in WordPress.com.  (See: Plugin MCE Table Button)

Screen Shot of WordPress.com Forum

But in the Support page of WordPress.com it mentions they have MCE Table Buttons plugin preinstalled for enterprise user.  (See Plugins — Support — WordPress.com).   Screen Shot of WordPress.com Support

So for having table formatting feature (and a lot of other things) for my web note, I either need to pay to become an enterprise user (don’t know what’s the difference from Premium user yet), or I go setup my own WordPress.org blog on a host or self-hosting it.  For the latter option, in fact I’ve been thinking for quite some time (and almost decide to pay and get a host).  However, to make such a move requires quite some preparation time and effort, which is something I don’t want to spend at the moment yet.  So for now, I’ll stay put.  (我忍~)

If anyone has any suggestion, please feel free to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

