About Hosting Blog on Github

Yesterday I blamed about the lack-of-feature in WordPress.com and said about the possibility of hosting my blog elsewhere.  Quite luckily, today when I step upon someone else’s blog for something I notice there’s a 3rd option, which is to host a blog on Github.  This interests me a lot.

After checking the intro on Github Pages, There’s quite some Pros to host a blog on Github:

  • It’s free, even with custom host name.
  • It uses git for version control (this could be huge advantage if one day I find some changes I made on a blog is a mistake).
  • There are many free plugins repoed on Github already, with the edge-bleeding version!.
  • It can be accessed anywhere, especially not blocked by China yet.
  • No Ads!

Learning new tools is never a problem for me, at least mentally.  But to decide whether to migrate my blog form wordpress.com to github still need some further study, especially:

  • How many features does the blog tool for github hosting offers.  So far I notice there’re Octopress and Jekyll.  Need to check further for their limitation.
  • Whether I can monitor the reader stats as easily as I have now in wordpress.com.
  • Whether I can have the same plugins and features I have now in wordpress.com.
  • How many themes and templates available to choose, or to make.
  • How many time and effort do I need for the migration.

So later on when I have some free time, I will try to set up a test blog and will see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

